Play Video
DU has earned the No. 2 seed for the SBC Women's Tennis Championship.
Courtesy: Clarkson Creative
DU has earned the No. 2 seed for the SBC Women's Tennis Championship.
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
DU Earns No. 4 Seed at SBC Women's Tennis Championships
Courtesy: Denver Athletics  
Release: 04/19/2012

DENVER - The Univesity of Denver has earned the No. 4 seed for the 2012 Sun Belt Conference Women's Tennis Championship set for April 19-22 in Denton, Texas. The Pioneers will play No. 5 Louisiana-Monroe in the quarterfinals on Friday, April 20 at 2:45 p.m. MT.

The Pioneers, who finished the regular season with an 11-10 mark, are seeking their third league championship during their final year of competition in the SBC. DU advanced to the semifinals last season under third-year head coach Jeremy Wurtzman and is looking for its first league title since 2008.

The Pioneers are hoping to end their two-match losing streak beginning Friday at the SBC championship.

"Our team is very excited for the SBC championship," Wurtzman said. "We have worked hard this year with the conference tournament in mind. We have the ability and players to win this tournament. We have played a tough schedule all year in an effort to prepare us for this weekend."

Junior Sophia Bergner (Schechen, Germany) leads DU with a 13-8 mark at No. 1 singles, while junior Steffi Rath (Hochst, Austria) is 13-7 and Emma Isberg (Tyreso, Sweden) is 11-8 and Caroline Schnell (Greenwood Village, Colo.) is 11-10. Bergner was named Sun Belt Conference Women's Tennis Player of the Week on Feb. 29. Bergner and Rath lead DU with a 10-8 doubles record, while Natalie Dunn (Fort Collins, Colo.) and Schnell are 8-5.

"If we can stay healthy and get some momentum in the early rounds, I feel that we have a good chance to play for a title," Wurtzman added.

The 2012 Sun Belt Conference Men's and Women's Championships are set for Thursday, April 19 through Sunday, April 22 at the Waranch Tennis Complex on the campus of the University of North Texas in Denton, Texas. Matches will be broadcast by Radio Tennis and available for listening online for free at radiotennis.com.

To follow the 2012 Sun Belt Conference Men's and Women's Tennis Championships, visit the Championship Central page. Also, follow along on Twitter: @The_Sun_Belt and Facebook: facebook.com/theSunBeltConference.

Sun Belt Conference Women's Tennis Championship Seeds
1. North Texas
Middle Tennessee
South Alabama
Arkansas State
Florida Atlantic
10. UALR

11. Louisiana-Lafayette

Western Kentucky


Back  Denver Women's Tennis

Launch PlayerLive EventsLOGINJoin Now