DU landed five players on All-SBC tennis team announced today.
Courtesy: Denver Athletics
DU landed five players on All-SBC tennis team announced today.
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Five Pioneers Named All-SBC
Courtesy: Denver Athletics  
Release: 04/18/2012

Quick Links

DENTON, Texas - Five University of Denver tennis players were honored tonight by the Sun Belt Conference at the league's annual awards banquet.

Senior Yannick Weihs (Guntramsdorf, Austria) and junior Enej Bonin (Koper, Slovenia) were named to the All-Sun Belt Conference Men's Tennis Singles Team, while the junior tandem of Bonin and Jens Vorkefeld (Ostercappeln, Germany) were named to the All-SBC Men's Doubles Team.

Junior Sophia Bergner (Schechen, Germany) was named to the All-SBC Women's Singles Team and joined partner Steffi Rath (Hochst, Austria) on the All-SBC Women's Doubles Team.

Bonin earns his third straight All-SBC singles honor after posting an 11-6 mark at No. 1 singles. Bonin and former Pioneer great Adam Holmstrom are the only DU men's tennis players to earn three All-SBC singles honors. Weihs earns his second straight All-SBC singles honor after posting a 12-6 record at No. 2-3 singles. Bonin and Vorkefeld earned All-SBC doubles honors with a team-leading 11-4 record. Vorkefeld joins Holmstrom and Niklas Persson as DU's three-time All-SBC doubles honorees.

Bergner earns her first All-SBC singles honor with a team-best 13-8 record at No. 1 singles. Rath and Bergner also posted a 10-8 doubles record to earn DU's first All-SBC doubles honor since 2008.

The No. 4 seed DU women play No. 5 Louisiana-Monroe or No. 12 Western Kentucky in the Sun Belt Conference Championship quarterfinals on Friday, April 20 at 10:30 a.m. MT.

The No. 1 seed Pioneer men play No. 4 South Alabama or No. 5 Florida Atlantic in the SBC Championship semifinals on April 20 at 2 p.m. MT.

All-Sun Belt Conference Men's Singles
Enej Bonin, Denver
Yannick Weihs, Denver
Taylor Albrecht, Florida Atlantic
Carlin Murray, Louisiana-Lafayette
Ben Davis, Middle Tennessee
Romain Bocaert, South Alabama

All-Sun Belt Conference Men's Doubles
Enej Bonin/Jens Vorkefeld, Denver
Taylor Albrecht/Will Neuner, Florida Atlantic
Christoph Lang/Ben Davis, Middle Tennessee
Romain Bocaert/Alex Bernard, South Alabama

All-Sun Belt Conference Women's Singles
Tamara Slijepcevic, Arkansas State
Sophia Bergner, Denver
Rita Maisak, FIU
Medy Blankvoort, ULM
Kseniya Bardabush, North Texas
Karoline Grymel, Troy

All-Sun Belt Conference Women's Doubles
Sophia Bergner/Steffi Rath, Denver
Nadia Lee/Barbora Vykydalova, North Texas
Karoline Grymel/Lyubov Dorofeeva, Troy

Back  Denver Men's Tennis

Launch PlayerLive EventsLOGINJoin Now