Courtesy: Denver Athletics
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Sun Belt Honors 130 Pioneers for Academics
Courtesy: Denver Athletics  
Release: 07/31/2012


NEW ORLEANS - A record 1,793 Sun Belt Conference student-athletes earned a GPA over 3.0 for the previous school year and were named to either the SBC Academic Honor Roll or SBC Commissioner's List the league office announced. The 2011-12 academic year marked the third time in the last four years that the academic honors were doled out to 1,700 or more student-athletes.

The Commissioner's List is comprised of student-athletes who received a grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the previous academic year.

The University of Denver landed 71 student-athletes on the Commissioner's List and another 59 on the Honor Roll. The 59 student-athletes on the Honor Roll and 130 total honorees were the most by the Pioneers since 1999-00, the final year the Sun Belt also included non-league sponsored sports in the lists. The 71 student-athletes on the Commissioner's List are the second most in DU history, eclipsed only by the 74 student-athletes in 2008-09.

This year's list comprised of 826 student-athletes being honored on the Commissioner's List while the remaining 967 student-athletes were recognized on the Academic Honor Roll. The 826 student-athletes on the Commissioner's List was a new SBC record, topping last year's total of 797. The 1,793 was an increase of eight percent over the total from 2010-11 (1,659).

"This is a tremendous accomplishment for our member universities, athletics departments and our quality student-athletes," Sun Belt Conference Commissioner Karl Benson said. "We are very proud of the high academic achievement of our student-athletes in the Sun Belt and it proves that our member universities and athletics programs are committed to excellence, not just on the fields and on the courts but in the classroom as well."

The Pioneers earned their 11th SBC Graduation Rate Award in 12 years this spring. Denver also boasts an Academic Progress Rate (APR) of 925 or better in each of its 17 NCAA Division I sport programs for the fifth-straight year, including men's golf, men's soccer and women's skiing, which were honored this year with the NCAA's Public Recognition Award.

"Our coaches and administrators have done an outstanding job in mentoring and providing the necessary tools and resources for our student-athletes to succeed and reach such high levels of academic success," added Commissioner Benson.

The total of 1,793 student-athletes that were honored tops the previous highs of 1,710 set during the 2010-11 school year, 1,700 set during the 2008-09 school year, 1,503 for the 2007-08 school year and 1,429 for the 2006-07 school year.


University of Denver's Sun Belt Conference Academic Honors

Men's Basketball

Commissioner's List (3):

Chase Hallam, Junior

Brian Stafford, Senior

Tyler Thalken, Senior

Honor Roll (5):

Justin Coughlin, Senior

Travis Hallam, Senior

Rob Lewis, Graduate Student

Chris Udofia, Sophomore

Charles Webb, Sophomore

Women's Basketball

Commissioner's List (5):

Alison Janecek, Sophomore

Kaetlyn Murdoch, Senior

Morgan Shell, Senior

Brianna Tisch, Freshman

Morgan Van Riper-Rose, Freshman

Honor Roll (5):

Jordan Johnston, Freshman

Quincey Noonan, Sophomore

Chaunise Powell, Freshman

Emiko Smith, Junior

Theresa Wirth, Freshman

Men's Golf

Commissioner's List (4):

Troy Anderson, Senior

Oskar Arvidsson, Sophomore

Ole Ramsnes, Sophomore

Andy Yang, Freshman

Honor Roll (2):

Jordan Burgess, Junior

Victor Doka, Freshman

Women's Golf

Commissioner's List (7):

Anna Christenson, Senior

Lindsay Cone, Senior

Tonje Daffinrud, Sophomore

Sarah Faller, Senior

Mieke Heyns, Freshman

Melissa Martin, Junior

Rachael Watton, Freshman

Honor Roll (1):

Kelly Drack, Junior

Women's Soccer

Commissioner's List (18):

Kaitlin Bast, Junior

Jessy Battelli, Sophomore

Bria Beardsley, Senior

Jacey Birtcher, Sophomore

Lara Campbell, Junior

Amelia Davis, Sophomore

Nicholette DiGiacomo, Sophomore

Paige Diamond, Freshman

Katie Feltch, Sophomore

Caitlin Higgins, Freshman

Maria Khan, Junior

Cassidy Larson, Sophomore

Sara Riazi, Sophomore

Taylor Sims, Sophomore

Kari Storslett, Senior

Katy Van Lieshout

Anna Willis, Freshman

Stephanie Woo, Sophomore

Honor Roll (5):

Kristen Hamilton, Sophomore

Sam Harder, Freshman

Carley Kocel, Freshman

Nikki Pappalardo, Freshman

Kalie Vaughn, Junior

Men's Tennis

Commissioner's List (5):

Frederick Bjorne, Freshman

Enej Bonin, Junior

Max Krammer, Junior

Jens Vorkefeld, Junior

Yannick Weihs, Senior

Honor Roll (5):

Fabio Biasion, Junior

Preben Bjorne, Freshman

Alex Clinkenbeard, Sophomore

Othar Kordsachia

Luke Manley, Freshman

Women's Tennis

Commissioner's List (5):

Sophia Bergner, Junior

Natalie Dunn, Sophomore

Emma Isberg, Junior

Steffi Rath, Junior

Caroline Schnell, Sophomore

Honor Roll (2):

Michelle Garpenlov, Freshman

Elena Najera-Salas, Sophomore

Men's Swimming

Commissioner's List (7):

Robert Barrett, Junior

Jeff Cox, Junior

Daniel Ettelson, Freshman

Ian Francis, Senior

Ryan Holly, Sophomore

Kyle Milberg, Sophomore

Clayton Myers, Senior

Honor Roll (18):

Matt Absher, Sophomore

Eric Anderson, Freshman

Drew Bonus, Junior

Ross Edfort, Freshman

Jay Giddens, Senior

Nick Iwanicki, Junior

Tanner Krall, Sophomore

Simon Latimer, Freshman

Andy Lee, Junior

Robin Lindgren, Junior

Doug Mackenzie, Sophomore

Jorge Palma-Fraga, Junior

Tyler Pennington, Senior

Adam Pettyes, Sophomore

Clark Tappy, Junior

Willy Van Dehy, Freshman

Cole Worsley, Junior

Jeremiah Zgliczynski, Freshman

Women's Swimming

Commissioner's List (10):

Bailey Beins, Junior

Kyrene Clarke, Sophomore

Gretchen Cohen, Sophomore

Anna Labozan, Freshman

Jackie Leung, Senior

Racheal McGinnis, Junior

Bridgette McNally, Freshman

Kirsten Milberg, Junior

Michelle Needham, Senior

Kristin Schmid, Senior

Honor Roll (11):

Jaclyn Best, Sophomore

Sarah Fischer, Freshman

Megan Foley, Senior

Dana Gau, Freshman

Sara Ladner, Senior

Cimone Miner, Junior

Katie Naze, Sophomore

Alex Suppan, Junior

Tia Totura, Junior

Kacie Van Buskirk, Freshman

Elizabeth Yovich, Senior


Commissioner's List (7):

Kate Acker, Freshman

Samantha Berger, Freshman

Alyssa Bonelli, Senior

Tara Curtiss, Freshman

Colleen King, Sophomore

Faimie Kingsley, Junior

Kate Oakes, Freshman

Honor Roll (5):

Julia Cawthra, Senior

Lyndi Johnson, Junior

Brea Muhle, Sophomore

Cassie Ronda, Freshman

Alex Turgeon, Sophomore

Back  Denver Athletics

Launch PlayerLive EventsLOGINJoin Now