Courtesy: Clarkson Creative
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Kingsley Selected to COBRA Magazine’s All-Preseason Team
Courtesy: Denver Athletics  
Release: 08/10/2012

Quick Links

DENVER - University of Denver volleyball senior Faimie Kingsley (Brooklyn, N.Y.) was selected to the COBRA Magazine All-Preseason Team, it was announced this week. Kingsley was tabbed as a First-Team selection after finishing last season on the COBRA Magazine All-West Region Team.

Last season, Kingsley earned First-Team All-SBC honors and three Player of the Week honors.

"Fai is a great player, a great athlete and one of the leaders on our team," said head coach Jesse Mahoney. "It doesn't surprise me that she was named to this preseason team because she had a great season last year, and we're hoping for an even bigger one this year."

COBRA is a magazine that features African American, Samoan, Tongan and Afro-Caribbean volleyball players in hopes of inspiring younger players from those ethnic groups to play volleyball and become successful women on and off the court. COBRA can be found online exclusively at:

Preseason National Player of the Year Candidates

Haley Jo Eckerman (Texas), Altrese Hawkins (Memphis), Tyler Henderson (Tulsa), Saitaua Iosia (UMES), Deja McClendon (Penn State), Monique Mead (Georgia Tech) Lena Oliver (Western Michigan), Jordanne Scott (Cincinnati)

All Preseason Selections

First Team

Anjelica Crump (UCF), Haley Jo Eckerman (Texas), Renele Forde (FIU), Sareea Freeman (Florida State) Altrese Hawkins (Memphis), Tyler Henderson (Tulsa), Kayla Jeter (Tennessee),  Gabby Jolly (Saint Mary's), Faimie Kingsley (Denver), Alexis Mathews (Michigan State), Deja McClendon (Penn State), Monique Mead (Georgia Tech), Lena Oliver (Western Michigan), Jordanne Scott (Cincinnati), Rachel Williams (Stanford)

Second Team

Ashley Adams (Middle Tennessee), Sandra Adeleye (Clemson), Maya Bell (Alabama State), Jessica Brown (Western Michigan), Christine Edwards (Jackson State), Desiree Elliot (LSU), Yvonne Igodan (TCU), Haley Jacob (Oregon), Janisa Johnson (Long Beach State), Kierra Jones (Purdue), Sha'Dare McNeal (Texas), Erika Moss (Tennessee State), Brieon Paige (Colorado State), Analine Mailoto (Southern Utah), Ariel Scott (Penn State), Bailey Webster (Texas)

Third Team

Kelly Bacon (Northeastern), Tiffany Baker (Tennessee), Khat Bell (Texas), Mariah Booth (Ohio State), Kristin Boyd (VCU), DeeDee Harrison (Tennessee), Chelsea Lawrence (Delaware), Ariana Mankus (Army), Chloe Mathis (San Diego State), Tenisha Matlock (Iowa State), Cory McGowan (Wingate), Clarissa Moore (Alabama A&M), Kami Nethersole (Hartford), Chaniel Nelson (UNC), Jasmine Norton (Arkansas), Malina Terrell (San Francisco)

Visit for complete coverage of all 17 of DU's NCAA Division I sports.


Like Denver Pioneers and DU Volleyball on Facebook

Follow @DU_Pioneers and @DU_Volleyball on Twitter

Back  Denver Volleyball

Launch PlayerLive EventsLOGINJoin Now