Papa Johns
The ITA-ranked No. 57 Denver Pioneers defeated New Mexico State 7-0 to win the WAC Regular Season Championship
Courtesy: Denver Athletics
The ITA-ranked No. 57 Denver Pioneers defeated New Mexico State 7-0 to win the WAC Regular Season Championship
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Pioneers Thump New Mexico State 7-0 to Claim WAC Regular Season Title
Courtesy: Denver Athletics  
Release: 04/14/2013

Quick Links

LAS CRUCES, N.M. – The University of Denver No. 57 women's tennis team defeated New Mexico State 7-0 to claim the Western Athletic Conference (WAC) regular season championship on Sunday in Las Cruces, N.M. The win improves the Pioneers to 8-0 in Western Athletic Conference (WAC) play and 15-3 overall

The Pioneers won two of three doubles matches to hold a 1-0 lead going into singles play.

The Pioneers swept New Mexico State in singles, winning all six flights. In No. 1 singles, senior Sophia Bergner (Schechen, Germany) beat NMSU's Ginet Pinero in a three set nail-biter, 7-5, 6-7 (8), 11-9. Junior Caroline Schnell (Greenwood Village, Colo.) defeated Jodie Williams, 6-3, 6-2. Senior Emma Isberg (Tyreso, Sweden) crusied by Denise Van Der Ben 6-0, 6-1 in No. 3 singles. Sophomore Mandy van den Eerenbeemt (Best, Netherlands) took down Annemieke Witt, 6-3, 6-1. Freshman Kathryn Hughes (Wrexham, Wales) defeated Ros- Polly Nguyen 6-4, 6-1 in No. 5 singles. Senior Steffi Rath(Höchst, Austria) routed Mia Brandt 6-0, 6-0 to complete the Pioneers singles sweep.

The No. 57 Pioneers wrap-up the regular season when they host Utah on Friday, April 19 at Gates Tennis Center. The match begin at 12 p.m.



1. Sophia Bergner (DEN) def. Ginet Pinero (NMSU), 7-5, 6-7 (8), 11-9

2. Caroline Schnell (DEN) def. Jodie Williams (NMSU), 6-3, 6-2

3. Emma Isberg (DEN) def. Denise Van Der Ben (NMSU), 6-0, 6-1

4. Mandy van den Eerenbeemt (DEN) def. Annemieke Witte (NMSU), 6-3, 6-1

5. Kathryn Hughes (DEN) def. Ros-Polly Nguyen (NMSU), 6-4, 6-1

6. Steffi Rath (DEN) def. Mia Brandt (NMSU), 6-0, 6-0



1. Bergner/Rath (DEN) def. Pinero/Nguyen (NMSU), 8-5

2. Williams/Van Der Ben (NMSU) def. Isberg/Vandeneerenbeemt (DEN), 8-5

3. Schnell/Hughes (DEN) def. Witte/Brandt (NMSU), 8-4


Visit DenverPioneers.com for complete coverage of all 17 of DU's NCAA Division I sports.




Like Denver Pioneers and Denver Women’s Tennis on Facebook

Follow @DU_Pioneers and @DU_WTennis Twitter

Back  Denver Women's Tennis

Launch PlayerLive EventsLOGINJoin Now