Lacrosse MM
Event marks first Summit League Championship hosted by Pioneers
Courtesy: Denver Athletics
Event marks first Summit League Championship hosted by Pioneers
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Denver to Host 2014 Summit League Tennis Championships
Courtesy: Denver Athletics  
Release: 09/26/2013

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League’s 2014 Men’s and Women’s Tennis Championships will be played in Denver, marking the first league championship hosted by the University of Denver. Matches will be played April 25-27 at the Gates Tennis Center.

“The league is excited to have the University of Denver host its first Summit League Championship,” said Senior Associate Commissioner and Championship Director Myndee Kay Larsen. “Tennis will be an excellent fit for Denver with access to a high-quality venue in the Gates Tennis Center.  We are looking forward to competitive men's and women's tournaments and a championship caliber atmosphere.”

“We look forward to welcoming all of The Summit League members and their student-athletes to Denver to enjoy an exceptional tournament experience at the Gates Tennis Center,” said University of Denver Vice Chancellor for Athletics, Recreation and Ritchie Center Operations Peg Bradley-Doppes. “As in years past, we expect a weekend of exciting collegiate tennis and feel fortunate to be able to host this tremendous event. We certainly appreciate the confidence The Summit League institutions and conference office executives are showing in our ability to serve as great hosts.”

Known as the finest public tennis facility in Denver, the Gates Tennis Center received the USTA’s Outstanding Large Public Facility Award in 2008.

“We are thrilled to host another conference championship here with The Summit League this upcoming April,” University of Denver men’s tennis coach Danny Westerman said.  “We obviously had a great experience winning the conference championship for the first time in team history last year, and it spring boarded us into the Florida Regional where we went on to beat the University of Florida in the first round of the NCAA Tournament, which was a tremendous accomplishment for our program.  This season will pose some new challenges as we lose our top three players from last season, but we bring in five newcomers that we know will keep our program going in the right direction.”

The DU men’s tennis team will be looking to build on the historic season it enjoyed in 2012-13 as it captured the program’s first Division I conference championship and earned a berth in the 2013 NCAA Championship, where it went on to defeat No. 1 seed Florida in the opening round.

“We are very excited to be hosting The Summit League Championship this year,” DU women’s tennis head coach Christian Thompson said.  “Last year, we hosted the WAC Tournament and it was a great success. Cindi Nagai and her support staff did an amazing job and we are excited for her to be helping us out again this year as well. Our girls fell just short last year of the title, and I know they will be fired up for another chance to take home the title on our home courts.”

The DU women’s tennis team will feature first-year head coach Thompson, who spent last season as an assistant on the Pioneers’ staff.  Denver returns six student-athletes from last season’s squad that posted a record of 18-4 and a perfect 8-0 mark in conference action.

The Summit League Tennis Championships feature five men’s teams and six women’s teams competing in single-elimination match play over the course of three days. Both the men’s and women’s champions receive an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

A complete schedule of 2013-14 Summit League Championships along with sport specific information is available at www.thesummitleague.org/championships. The Summit League also has a championship-specific Twitter account @summitchamps.


In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions, 62 All-Americans and 50 Academic All-America selections. Follow The Summit League at www.thesummitleague.org and on Twitter @thesummitleague, @summithoops and @summitchamps.



DenverPioneers.com for complete coverage of all 17 of DU's NCAA Division I sports.


Follow DU men’s tennis on the web at www.DenverPioneers.com


Follow DU men’s tennis on Twitter at @DU_MTennis


Follow DU Women’s Tennis on the web at www.facebook.com/DenverWomensTennis


Follow DU Women’s Tennis on Twitter at @ DU_WTennis


Become a fan of the Denver Pioneers on Facebook

Back  Denver Men's Tennis

Launch PlayerLive EventsLOGINJoin Now