Drew Shore and the Pioneers open the 2011-12 season at Boston College.
Courtesy: Clarkson Creative
Drew Shore and the Pioneers open the 2011-12 season at Boston College.
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
DU Announces 2011-12 Hockey Schedule
Courtesy: Denver Athletics  
Release: 05/04/2011

DENVER - The seven-time NCAA champion University of Denver hockey team will open its 2011-12 season at 2010 NCAA champion Boston College and 2009 NCAA champion Boston University, two-time National Coach of the Year George Gwozdecky announced today.

DU will play 21 home games, including two exhibition contests, and 16 games against 2011 NCAA Tournament participants. The Pioneers will battle in-state rival Colorado College four times and play two-game series' against 2011 Frozen Four participant North Dakota, 2011 NCAA champion Minnesota Duluth, Minnesota and Wisconsin.

"The 2011-12 schedule starts with challenging games at recent NCAA champions Boston College and Boston University," Gwozdecky said. "We are playing a highly-competitive nonconference schedule. We also look forward to welcoming back assistant coach Rico Blasi and Miami and former DU standout Gavin Morgan, who is an assistant coach at Alabama-Huntsville."

DU's 19-game home regular-season schedule is highlighted by two-game series' against Minnesota Duluth (Nov. 4-5), Nebraska Omaha (Nov. 18-19), Minnesota (Feb. 10-11), North Dakota (Feb. 24-25) and Colorado College (Nov. 12 & Feb. 3).

The Pioneers host Princeton (ECAC) and former DU assistant coach Enrico Blasi and Miami University (CCHA) in a showcase format during the 20th Annual Denver Cup Classic on Nov. 25-26. In addition, DU hosts Minnesota State (Oct. 21-22), NCAA Tournament participant Union (Dec. 30), Alabama-Huntsville (Jan. 6-7) and Bemidji State (Jan. 13-14).

DU plays at Boston College (Oct. 14), Boston University (Oct. 15), Michigan Tech (Oct. 28-29), Colorado College (Nov. 11 & Feb. 4), Bemidji State (Dec. 9-10), St. Cloud State (Dec. 16-17), Air Force (Dec. 31), Alaska Anchorage (Jan. 27-28), Wisconsin (Feb. 17-18) and Nebraska Omaha (March 2-3).

DU participated in its school-best fourth consecutive NCAA Tournament in 2011. The Pioneers advanced to the NCAA Midwest Regional final and finished with a 25-12-5 record. Junior Drew Shore (Denver) and sophomores Sam Brittain (Calgary, Alberta), Jason Zucker (Las Vegas) and David Makowski (Wildwood, Mo.) highlight the list of 16 returning letterwinners for 2011-12. Defensemen Scott Mayfield (St. Louis, Mo.) and Joey LaLeggia (Burnaby, B.C.) and forward Zac Larraza (Scottsdale, Ariz.) lead the list of newcomers.

Season tickets for the 2011-12 season are currently on sale. Ticket packages begin at $192. Individual game tickets go on sale in early September, with individual ticket prices starting as low as $18. Group tickets go on sale on Monday, Aug. 1. Please contact Adam Sizemore at (303) 871-2389 for group ticket prices.

For additional ticket information, please visit or call the Daniel L. Ritchie Center North Box Office at (303) 871-GOAL.

Follow DU athletics on the web at

Follow DU hockey on Twitter at

Become a fan of the Denver Pioneers on Facebook.
Back  Denver Men's Ice Hockey

Launch PlayerLive EventsLOGINJoin Now