Athletics News

Butcher and Andison Earn MVP Honors at DU Awards Night

May 8, 2017

Photo Gallery

DENVER – Senior University of Denver hockey captain Will Butcher was voted DU’s 2016-17 Male Athlete of the Year and two-time women’s swimming All-American Bailey Andison took home Female Athlete of the Year honors as DU hosted its 82nd Annual Student-Athlete Awards Banquet on Monday night in Hamilton Gymnasium. 

Freshman hockey forward Henrik Borgström was awarded the Pioneer Sportsman of the Year (Freshman of the Year), while gymnast Maddie Karr earned Sportswoman of the Year honors. 

The Gold Vest Award - which is given annually to an outstanding Pioneer team for excellence in community service, academics, spirit, leadership and athletic performance - went to the women’s lacrosse program. 

This yearly celebration, which is organized and hosted by the DU Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC), also honored MVPs from each of Denver's NCAA Division I intercollegiate sports programs, the Comeback Player of the Year and Sports Performance Athletes of the Year (full list below). 

Butcher became the second Hobey Baker Award winner in program history and just the sixth defenseman in the 37-year history of the award, captaining the Pioneers to their eighth National Championship in 2017, the program’s first since 2005. The two-time All-American tallied 37 points (7G-30A), the second-most in the country by a defenseman, while also turning in the sixth-best plus-minus in the country at +27. 

Andison earned All-America honors for the second-consecutive year at the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships. In 2017, Andison received first-team honors for a fifth-place finish in the 400 IM, in addition to her 13th-place finish in the 200 IM earlier in the week. The Summit League Women’s Swimmer of the Year qualified to represent Canada at the World University Games, ranking 25th in the world in the 200 meter IM at the time of qualification. The Denver sophomore holds two individual school and Summit League records and is a part of two relay school and Summit League records. Andison was awarded the 2016 Sportswoman (top freshman) of the Year at the 81st DU Awards Night.

Karr completed one of the most successful freshman seasons in DU Gymnastics history, earning three All-America honors at the 2017 NCAA Championships and finishing ninth in the all-around—the highest a DU gymnast has ever finished at nationals. The Stillwater, Minn., native was named the North Central Region Gymnast of the Year, won a share of the beam title at regionals and earned a spot on the Big 12 Conference Championship Team in the all-around. Karr also posted a perfect 10.0 on vault and the fourth-highest all-around score in program history. 

Borgström led all freshmen in the NCAA in goals with 22 and finished second on the team in points with 43. The Denver freshman helped lead the Pioneers to their first National Championship in 12 years. The Florida Panthers prospect took home First Team All-America Honors in addition to being named the NCHC Rookie of the Year after leading all freshmen with both 19 points and 12 goals in 20 NCHC games. 

2016-17 University of Denver Athletics Awards 

Male Athlete of the Year: Will Butcher, Hockey 

Female Athlete of the Year: Bailey Andison, Swimming 

Pioneer Sportsman of the Year: Henrik Borgström, Hockey

Pioneer Sportswoman of the Year: Maddie Karr, Gymnastics 

Comeback Player of the Year: Leah Lomonte, Gymnastics

Male Strength and Conditioning Award: Sam Hamilton, Men’s Soccer and Connor Cannizzaro, Men’s Lacrosse

Female Strength and Conditioning Award: Kendra Lanuza, Women’s Lacrosse

Gold Vest Award: Women’s Lacrosse

Scholar Athletes of the Year:

                Male Freshman: Colin Squires, men’s lacrosse

                Female Freshman: Molly Kuettel and Sara Lingen, women’s

                Male Sophomore:  Jake Holtzmann, men’s basketball

                Female Sophomore: Haley Simental, women’s basketball

                Male Junior: Erik Read, men’s skiing

                Female Junior: Jessica Dreesbeimdieke, women’s golf

                Male Senior: Greg Ogard, hockey

                Female Senior: Nicole Cassou, women’s swimming

2016-17 Team MVP Awards 

Male MVP                    Name


Joe Rosga


Petter Mikalsen


Will Butcher


Trevor Baptiste


Erik Read


Moritz Madlener


Kortne Ford


Anton Loncar


Yannik James

Female MVP



Jacqlyn Poss


Jessica Carty


Maddie Karr


Layne Voorhees


Monica Huebner


Taeler McCrerey


Francesca Garzelloni


Bailey Andison


Maureen Slattery


Ruth Okoye


TICKETS: For all Denver Athletics ticket inquires, call 303-871-GOAL (4625). 

Fans interested in making a donation to the Pioneer Movement Annual Fund can do so by clicking here. Your contribution will make a direct impact on the success of YOUR Pioneers. Thank you in advance for your unwavering support of our student-athletes and their quest for excellence. 



Visit for complete coverage of all 17 of DU’s NCAA Division I sports.

Like Denver Pioneers on Facebook
Follow @DU_Pioneers on Twitter


Pioneer Vision

Don't miss a second of this season's Pioneer action!

Live coverage, full-game replays and more



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago