Men's Basketball


Rosga and Amigo Earn All-Summit League Honors

Feb. 28, 2018


 -- The University of Denver men's basketball team had two players receive All-Summit League honors on Wednesday. Senior center Daniel Amigo and junior guard Joe Rosga were rewarded for their terrific seasons in a release by the league.

Rosga was named to the first team, after finishing the last two seasons as an honorable-mention selection. The 6-foot-3 guard averaged 16.4 points, 4.1 rebounds and 2.9 assists per game in 28 games. Rosga showcased his shooting touch all year, posting a 49.8 shooting percentage from the field and 45.0 percent from 3.

The St. Paul, Minn. native has continued to be an offensive weapon, chalking up a career-high 33 points against Navy earlier this season. The guard's 28 points against Omaha on Feb. 14 were a key factor in the 16-point win. Rosga's six games of 20-plus points in 2017-18 tied with Amigo to lead the team. Over the span of the team's recent four-game winning streak, the junior is averaging 23.5 points. His 1,287 career-points rank 13th in program history.

Rosga becomes the first player to be named to the first team since Chris Udofia and Brett Olson back in 2014.

Amigo was selected to the second team in consecutive years. The El Paso, Texas native is averaging 15.0 points per game, which ranks ninth in the league. He also ranks eighth in rebounds, pulling down 6.4 a night.  The senior also has had five double-doubles on the season, putting him in a tie for fourth in the league.  

The 6-foot-10 center has had some key performances on the season. His season-high 24-point, 16-rebound effort against St. Francis Brooklyn back on Nov. 25 was crucial in the 60-50 victory. Amigo also poured in 24 points vs Colorado Mesa on Dec. 28. After scoring 20 points on the road at Western Illinois on Feb. 24, Amigo became just the 36th Pioneer in program history with at least 1,000 points in a career.



South Dakota State's Mike Daum repeated as the Summit League Player of the Year.

Denver returns to the hardwood for the quarterfinals of the Summit League Tournament later this week. The three-seeded Pioneers will face No. 6 Oral Roberts on Sunday at 7:30 p.m. MT. The contest will be played in the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls, S.D.

 Player of the Year
Mike Daum, South Dakota State

Coach of the Year
T.J. Otzelberger, South Dakota State

Defensive Player of the Year
Brandon Gilbeck, Western Illinois

Sixth Man of the Year
Albert Owens, Oral Roberts

Transfer of the Year
Austin Ruder, Oral Roberts

Freshman of the Year
David Jenkins Jr., South Dakota State

First Team School
Mike Daum, Jr. South Dakota State
John Konchar, Jr. Fort Wayne
Paul Miller, Sr. North Dakota State
Matt Mooney, Jr. South Dakota
Joe Rosga, Jr. Denver
Bryson Scott, Sr. Fort Wayne
Second Team School
Daniel Amigo, Sr. Denver
Trey Burch-Manning, Jr. South Dakota
Tyler Hagedorn, Jr. South Dakota
Zach Jackson, Jr. Omaha
David Jenkins, Fr. South Dakota State
Honorable Mention School
Brandon Gilbeck, Jr. Western Illinois
Emmanuel Nzekwesi, So. Oral Roberts
Triston Simpson, So. South Dakota
Reed Tellinghuisen, Sr. South Dakota State
Kobe Webster, Fr. Western Illinois
All-Newcomer Team
Nick Fuller, Sr.
South Dakota
Cameron Hunter, Fr. 
North Dakota State
David Jenkins Jr.. Fr.
South Dakota State
Sam Kearns, So. 
Oral Roberts
Kobe Webster, Fr.
Western Illinois


Like Denver Pioneers, Denver Men's Basketball on Facebook

Follow @DU_Pioneers, @DU_MHoops on Twitter

Follow denverpioneers, du_mhoops on Instagram



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago