Men's Basketball


Amigo and Rosga Earn All-Summit League Honors

March 2, 2017


. – The University of Denver men’s basketball team had two players receive All-Summit League honors on Thursday. Junior big man Daniel Amigo and sophomore guard Joe Rosga were rewarded for their great seasons in a release by the league.

Amigo was selected to the second team, his first selection in his collegiate career. The El Paso, Texas native has enjoyed a career year in 2016-17, averaging a personal-best 15.8 points per game, which ranks 10th in the league. He also ranks tied for fifth in rebounds, pulling down 7.2 a night.  His eight double-doubles are tied for second most in the league.

The 6-foot-10 center has turned in some monstrous performances this year. His 33-point, 10-rebound effort in a win at Air Force back on Dec. 10 was the most points scored by a Pioneer since 2011. Amigo came up big again with a 28-point, 12-rebound night in a decisive victory against North Dakota State on Jan. 14.

Rosga has upped his game this season, seeing an uptick in nearly every major statistical category, resulting in an honorable-mention selection for a second straight year. The sophomore has scored 15.5 points per game to go along with 4.1 rebounds and 3.3 assists this year, all career bests.

The St. Paul, Minn. native has shown off his terrific touch all season long: from pouring in a career-high 30 points in the season opener against Jacksonville highlighted by nine treys, to scoring 24 against Omaha in the regular-season home finale. Rosga has been a driving force behind the best offense DU has ever produced since going Division I back in 1998. His eight games with at least 20 points are the most on the team.



Denver returns to the hardwood for the quarterfinals of the Summit League Tournament later this week. The five-seeded Pioneers will face four-seeded South Dakota State on Sunday at 5 p.m. MT. The contest will be played in the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls, S.D.

 Player of the Year
Mike Daum, South Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Craig Smith, South Dakota

Defensive Player of the Year
Tra-Deon Hollins, Omaha

Sixth Man of the Year
Dexter Werner, North Dakota State

Transfer of the Year
Matt Mooney, South Dakota

Freshman of the Year
Emmanuel Nzekwesi, Oral Roberts

First Team School
Mike Daum, So. South Dakota State
Tyler Flack, Sr. South Dakota
Tra-Deon Hollins, Sr Omaha
John Konchar, So. Fort Wayne
Paul Miller, Jr. North Dakota State
Matt Mooney, So. South Dakota


Second Team School
Daniel Amigo, Jr. Denver
Garret Covington, Sr. Western Illinois
Mo Evans, Sr. Fort Wayne
Marcus Tyus, Sr. Omaha
Dexter Werner, Sr. North Dakota State


Honorable Mention School
Darell Combs, Sr. IUPUI
Matt O'Leary, Sr. IUPUI
Albert Owens, Jr. Oral Roberts
Joe Rosga, So. Denver
Tre'Shawn Thurman, Jr Omaha


All-Newcomer School
Trey Burch-Manning, So. South Dakota
Trey Dickerson, Jr. South Dakota
Mitch Hahn, So. Omaha
Matt Mooney, So. South Dakota
Bryson Scott, Jr. Fort Wayne



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago