Men's Ice Hockey


Four Pioneers Named Finalists for NCHC Individual Awards

March 8, 2018


The University of Denver Pioneers had four (4) student-athletes named finalists for National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) individual awards, the NCHC announced on Thursday.

Henrik Borgström has been named a finalist for Forward of the Year and Player of the Year, Dylan Gambrell has been named a finalist for the NCHC Three Stars Award, Ian Mitchell has been named a finalist for Rookie of the Year and Tanner Jaillet has been named a finalist for Goalie of the Year.

The winners will be announced and presented their awards on Thursday, March 15 at the annual NCHC Awards Celebration at the Science Museum of Minnesota in Saint Paul on the eve of the fifth annual NCHC Frozen Faceoff, and first at Xcel Energy Center.

In his sophomore season, Borgström was the only unanimous selection for First-Team All-Conference after winning the NCHC regular-season scoring race with 33 points (14-19-33) and averaging 1.38 points per game to pace the league. The Florida Panthers prospect recorded three (3) or more points five (5) conference games, tied for the most in the NCHC. Borgström finished tied for third in the NCAA regular-season scoring race with 44 points (19-25-44) and his 18 power-play points tied him for 7th in NCAA regular-season scoring. Last season, Borgström was named NCHC Rookie of the Year and was a member of the NCHC All-Rookie team as well as Second-Team All-Conference. The 2017 All-American was named a nominee for the 2018 Hobey Baker Award. He has had back-to-back 40+ point seasons.



In his junior season, Gambrell finished third in NCHC regular-season scoring with 30 points (9-21-30) and led the league with 21 assists. The Bonney Lake, Wash. native and San Jose Sharks prospect finished the 34-game NCAA regular season with 41 points (12-29-41) and a +17 plus/minus rating. The 2018 Hobey Baker Award nominee has recorded three-consecutive 40+ point seasons and was recently named to Second-Team All-Conference.

Mitchell led Denver defensemen with 16 points (2-14-16) and led the team with 10 power-play assists and 36 blocked shots in 24 conference games. Additionally, the Chicago Blackhawks draft pick logged 40 shots and a +8 rating in NCHC play. Mitchell finished the Pioneers’ regular season with 22 points (2-20-22), 16 power-play assists, a .65 points per game average and 43 blocked shots to lead all Denver blueliners. The Calahoo, Alberta native’s 16 power-play assists ranked second among all NCAA defenseman and his 22 points tied him for third in scoring among NCAA freshmen defensemen.

Jaillet finished the NCHC regular season with a league-leading 1.91 goals-against average, .928 save percentage, which ranked second in the conference, and four (4) shutouts. The senior from Red Deer, Alberta finished the NCAA regular season with a 1.93 GAA, .926 save percentage and five (5) shutouts through 32 games. The 2017 Mike Richter Award winner enters the postseason with 128 career games played, a school record, and 77 career wins, six (6) shy of becoming the winningest goalie in school history. Jaillet was recently named to First-Team All-Conference for the second consecutive year.

View the full list of finalists below:

Player of the Year Finalists

Henrik Borgström, So., F, Denver

David Pope, Sr., F, Omaha

Jimmy Schuldt, Jr., D, SCSU

Herb Brooks Coach of the Year Finalists

Mike Haviland, CC

Bob Motzko, SCSU

Scott Sandelin, UMD

Senior Scholar-Athlete Award Nominees

Scott Moldenhauer, D, WMU

Johnny Simonson, F, UND

Tyler Vesel, F, Omaha

Rookie of the Year Finalists

Dávid Hrenák, G, St. Cloud State

Ian Mitchell, D, Denver

Scott Perunovich, D, UMD

Goaltender of the Year Finalists

Dávid Hrenák, Fr., St. Cloud State

Tanner Jaillet, Sr., Denver

Hunter Shepard, So., UMD

Forward of the Year Finalists

Henrik Borgström, So., Denver

Nick Halloran, So., Colorado College

David Pope, Sr., Omaha

Defensive Defenseman of the Year Finalists

Will Borgen, Jr., SCSU

Joel Messner, Sr., Omaha

Colton Poolman, So., UND

Nick Wolff, So., UMD

Offensive Defenseman of the Year Finalists

Scott Perunovich, Fr., UMD

Jimmy Schuldt, Jr., SCSU

Christian Wolanin, Jr., UND

Defensive Forward of the Year Finalists

Rhett Gardner, Jr., UND

Karson Kuhlman, Sr., UMD

Tyler Vesel, Sr., Omaha

NCHC Three Stars Award Finalists

Dylan Gambrell, Jr., F, Denver

Nick Halloran, So., F, CC

Alex Leclerc, So., G, CC

David Pope, Sr., F, Omaha

Sportsmanship Award Nominees

Karson Kuhlman, Sr., F, UMD

Judd Peterson, Sr., F, SCSU

Austin Poganski, Sr., F, UND

Tyler Vesel, Sr., F, Omaha


The University of Denver is holding an alumni giving challenge for the 2017-2018 season in an effort to increase student-athlete alumni participation in the Denver Athletics Annual Fund. The sport with the highest percentage of alumni participation will receive an additional $10,000 of support through the generosity of an anonymous donor. Alumni can make a gift onlineby calling 303-871-2388 during normal business hours or by sending a check to:

Athletics Development Office

Attn: Kaley Rickert

2201 E. Asbury Avenue 

Denver, CO 80208


Single-game tickets, season tickets and hockey four packs are on sale now. Click Here for more information or call 303-871-4625. 


Interested in making a donation to the hockey program? Click Here. Your contribution will make a direct impact on the success of YOUR Pioneers. Thank you for your unwavering support of our student-athletes and their quest for excellence. 


Visit for complete coverage of all 17 of DU's NCAA Division I sports

Like Denver Pioneers and Denver Hockey on Facebook

Follow @DU_Pioneers and @DU_Hockey on Twitter

@DenverPioneers and @DU_Hockey on Instagram



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago