Men's Ice Hockey


Jim Montgomery Named Spencer Penrose Award Winner

April 4, 2017

Denver head coach Jim Montgomery has been named the winner of the 2017 Spencer Penrose Award as Division I Men’s Ice Hockey CCM/AHCA Coach of the Year! From the official release from the American Hockey Coaches Association:

For his efforts in leading the University of Denver Pioneers to the NCHC regular season title and the #1 seed in this year’s NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championships, Jim Montgomery has been chosen winner of the 2017 Spencer Penrose Award as Division I Men’s Ice Hockey CCM/AHCA Coach of the Year. He will receive his award on Wednesday evening, April 26, launching the American Hockey Coaches Association’s annual convention in Naples, FL.

Montgomery has enjoyed a banner year in 2016-17 as his Pioneers have compiled a 31-7-4 record heading into this weekend’s NCAA “Frozen Four” in Chicago. Top-seeded Denver will face-off against the University of Notre Dame in Thursday’s second semifinal game (8:30 p.m. CT) in hopes of an eighth national title for the Pioneers.

Montgomery has amassed a record of 100-47-18 in four years at Denver. The Montréal, Québec, native has led the Pioneers to the NCAA Tournament in each of his four seasons in the Mile High City, winning the inaugural NCHC Championship in 2014, making the ‘Elite Eight’ in 2015 and leading Denver to its first Frozen Four berth since 2005 in 2016. He was named a finalist for the 2016 Herb Brooks Award as NCHC Coach of the Year, won by North Dakota’s Brad Berry, as well as the 2016 Spencer Penrose Award as the top bench boss in the nation, won by Quinnipiac’s Rand Pecknold.

Prior to his arrival in Denver, Montgomery spent three seasons (2010-13) as Head Coach/General Manager of the United States Hockey League’s Dubuque Fighting Saints, winning a pair of Clark Cup championships (2011 & 2013) as well as a regular season title (2013) and GM of the Year honors (2013).

He was an assistant coach at RPI from 2006-10 and began his coaching career at Notre Dame in 2005-06, serving as a volunteer coach with the Fighting Irish. Hockey East’s all-time leading scorer with 301 career points (103G-198A), Montgomery won a national title during his senior season at Maine in 1993 and went on to play professionally for 12 years in the NHL, AHL, IHL, UHL, DEL and RSL.

Montgomery and his wife Emily live in Highlands Ranch with their two sons and one daughter. Assisting Montgomery this season were David Carle, Tavis MacMillan and Joe Howe. All will be recognized in Naples.

The runner-up for this year’s AHCA Men’s Division I Coach of the Year award was Harvard University coach Ted Donato, whose Crimson will meet Minnesota Duluth in Thursday’s first semifinal game.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first ten NCAA championship hockey tournaments.

The CCM AHCA COACH of the YEAR AWARDS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago