Men's Ice Hockey


Butcher Named USA Hockey's College Player of the Year

May 24, 2017

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – USA Hockey will host its 2017 Annual Congress from June 7-10 in Colorado Springs, Colorado. The four-day event provides USA Hockey’s various councils, committees and affiliates the opportunity to conduct the business of the national governing body and celebrate accomplishment.

USA Hockey will honor its service award recipients and various other players of the year on June 7 at its annual Night of Tribute Awards Dinner, while the other top awards will be presented during The President’s Awards Dinner on June 9.

Wednesday’s award recipients include Adult Player of the Year Katie Augustine (West Chester, Ohio), Bob Allen Women’s Player of the Year Brianna Decker (Dousman, Wis.), Dave Tyler Junior Player of the Year Zach Solow (Naples, Fla.), Dave Peterson Goalie of the Year Keith Petruzzelli (Wilbraham, Mass.), College Player of the Year Will Butcher (Sun Prairie, Wis.) and Disabled Athlete of the Year Alfredo Corona (Little Elm, Texas).

Honorees for The President’s Awards Dinner on June 9 include Excellence in Safety Award recipient Dr. Rick Greenwald (Norwich, Vt.), Chet Stewart Award winner Gordy Lingel (Billings, Mont.), Adult Member of the Year Don Mulder (Waupun, Wis.), Walter Yaciuk Award recipient Stan Moskal (Denver, Colo.), Bob Johnson Award winners, including the 2017 U.S. National Junior Team, 2017 U.S. Women's National Under-18 Team, 2017 U.S. Women's National Team and 2017 U.S. Men's National Under-18 Team, Distinguished Achievement Award recipient Joe Bertagna (Gloucester, Mass.) and Wm. Thayer Tutt Award winner Dennis Bushy (East Grand Forks, Minn.). Alyssa Girardi (Dearborn, Mich.), the 2015-17 Brian Fishman Intern and 2016-17 Brendan Burke Intern Colin Mayberry (Cranford, N.J.) will also be honored at the dinner.

College Player of the Year - Will Butcher

University of Denver defenseman Will Butcher finished his collegiate career as the sixth defenseman to win the Hobey Baker Memorial Award as the nation’s top player.

A team captain during his senior season, Butcher helped lead the Pioneers to the school’s eighth national title. He contributed 37 points (7G, 30A) in 43 games, which ranked second among all NCAA defensemen. Butcher was named NCHC Player of the Year and Offensive Defenseman of the Year after finishing first in the conference with 25 points (3G, 22A) in 24 games.

The ACHA/CCM First-Team All-American also earned all-tournament team honors at the NCAA’s Midwest Regional after netting a goal and earning a plus-three rating in wins over Michigan Tech and Penn State.

Butcher has represented Team USA in IIHF world championship play four times, including with the gold medal-winning 2012 U.S. Men’s National Under-18 Team at the IIHF Under-18 Men’s World Championship in Brno, Czech Republic. He also won silver at the same event a year later, and was a member of the 2014 and 2015 U.S. National Junior Teams.

The Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, native is the son of Joe and Julie Butcher and has one sister, Jessie, and one brother, Mike.

The College Player of the Year Award, presented by Bauer, annually recognizes an individual’s outstanding performance during the U.S. college hockey season.

See more information on all the award winners HERE





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago