Men's Lacrosse


Baptiste Named Finalist for 2018 Tewaaraton Award

May 10, 2018

Denver vs. Notre Dame Preview

NCAA Tournament Tickets | 2018 Schedule | Pioneer Movement

WASHINGTON - University of Denver men's lacrosse senior faceoff specialist Trevor Baptiste (Denville, N.J.) has been named a finalist for the second straight year for the Tewaaraton Award, the foundation announced on Thursday. Baptiste's finalist honor is the fourth for a Pioneer in as many years, a list that also includes Wesley Berg in 2015 and Connor Cannizzaro in 2016.

In now the 18th year of the award, Denver is one of four programs to have at least one finalist in four-consecutive years.

At Least One Finalist in Four-Straight Years (In Order of Most Recent)

  • Denver - 2015-18 (Berg, Cannizzaro, Baptiste, Baptiste)
  • Virginia - 2006-12 (Ward and Dixon, Rubeor, Rubeor, Glading, Clausen, Stanwick, Stanwick)
  • Syracuse - 2008-11 (Leveille, Abbott, White, White and Galloway)
  • Duke - 2007-10 (Danowski, Danowski and Greer, Crotty, Crotty)
  • Syracuse - 2001-04 (Coffman, Powell and Coffman, Powell, Powell) 

The other four 2018 finalists are Ben Reeves (2016 and 2017 finalist - Yale - Attack), Pat Spencer (2017 finalist - Loyola - Attack), Justin Guterding (Duke - Attack) and Connor Kelly (Maryland - Midfield).

In 2017, Baptiste became the first faceoff specialist to ever be named a finalist for the Tewaaraton Award, and earned his fourth Tewaaraton Award nomination last month. A three-time USILA First Team All-America selection, Baptiste is one of 59 players in the history of the sport to earn the first team honor three times, and would become just the sixth player in history to earn the honor four times if he receives first team status later this month. Baptiste has also been named to the 2018 USILA Player of the Year Watchlist, and is a finalist for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award.

The No. 1 Overall Draft Pick in the 2018 MLL Collegiate Draft set the new NCAA Division I men's lacrosse faceoff wins record last Thursday, winning his 1,118th career faceoff in Denver's 10-7 BIG EAST Semifinal victory over Marquette. The Denver senior reached the mark in 10 fewer games than previous record holder Kevin Massa (Bryant/2015). Baptiste is 250-for-325 (.769) in 2018 to bring his career percentage to .718 (1129-1572). In his career, Baptiste has 29 goals and 12 assists, and is 62-2-3 in faceoff match-ups. Baptiste has double digit faceoff wins in 66 of 67 career games, and has won 20+ faceoffs in 21 games in the last four years.

The Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will take place on Thursday, May 31 in Washington, D.C.

The University of Denver men's lacrosse team, Presented by Your Hometown Toyota Stores, opens up the 2018 NCAA Tournament with a trip to seventh-seeded Notre Dame on Sunday at 2:15 p.m. ET/12:15 p.m. MT. The game will be broadcast live on ESPNU and ESPN Denver 1600 (Pioneer Pregame at 11:45 a.m. MT).

For all Denver Athletics ticket inquires, call 303-871-GOAL (4625). Single game tickets for the 2018 season are on sale, and can be purchased here.

Fans interested in making a donation to the men's lacrosse program can do so by clicking here. Your contribution will make a direct impact on the success of YOUR Pioneers. Thank you in advance for your unwavering support of our student-athletes and their quest for excellence. 

Student-Athlete Alumni Giving Challenge:
In 2017-18, the University of Denver is holding an alumni giving challenge in an effort to increase student-athlete alumni participation in the Denver Athletics Annual Fund. The sport program with the highest percentage of alumni participation will receive an additional $10,000 of support through the generosity of an anonymous donor. Former student-athletes can make a gift online, by calling 303-871-2388 during normal business hours or by sending a check to:

Athletics Development Office
Attn: Kaley Rickert
2201 E. Asbury Avenue 
Denver, CO 80208  


Visit for complete coverage of all 17 of DU's NCAA Division I sports.

Like Denver Pioneers and DU Men's Lacrosse on Facebook

Follow @DU_Pioneers and @DU_MLAX on Twitter





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago