Women's Basketball


Alt and Gritt Earn All-Summit League Honors

Feb. 28, 2018

Summit League Release

SIOUX FALL, S.D. – In a turnaround year for the University of Denver women’s basketball team, the Pioneers carded four All-Summit League postseason awards.

The four honors are divided between two players, Claire Gritt and Jordyn Alt.

Gritt took three of the four accolades: Freshman of the Year, All-Newcomer Team and Honorable Mention All-Summit League. The Arlington Heights, Ill., native started in 27 of 29 games and averaged a team-leading 10.3 points and 3.0 rebounds per game. Gritt shot 40.8 percent from the field and 35.7 from deep. Earlier this season, Gritt was named to the Roo Holiday Classic All-Tournament team after averaging 16 points per game, including a career-high 21 points vs Liberty on December 19.

In her senior season, Alt took home honorable-mention All-Summit League honors. The 6-foot-2 forward averaged 7.3 points and a team-leading 8.3 rebounds in her final year. The North Oaks, Minn., native leads the league in rebounds per game (8.3) and sits 88th in the NCAA this season with 242 total boards. Alt put up a career-high 16 points against Utah Valley in early January and tied her career high of 17 rebounds when the team hosted Western Illinois last week.



It is the first time since DU joined the Summit League that a player earned Freshman of the Year and All-Newcomer Team honors. Paige Bradley in 2016 was the last time a Denver player earned Honorable Mention.

Alt, Gritt and the rest of the Pioneers take to Sioux Falls, S.D. on Sunday to face Oral Roberts in the Summit League Tournament at 11 a.m. MT.   

 Player of the Year
Macy Miller, South Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Dawn Plitzuweit, South Dakota

Defensive Player of the Year
Jasmine Trimboli, South Dakota

Sixth Man of the Year
Jasmine TrimboliSouth Dakota

Transfer of the Year
Tagyn Larson, South Dakota State

Freshman of the Year
Claire Gritt, Denver

First Team School
Allison Arens South Dakota
Emily Clemens Western Illinois
Ciara Duffy South Dakota
Madison Guebert South Dakota State
Faith Ihim Oral Roberts
Macy Miller South Dakota State


Second Team School
Morgan Blumer Western Illinois
Taylor Higginbotham Western Illinois
Maria Martianez Oral Roberts
Ellie Thompson South Dakota State
Jasmine Trimboli South Dakota


Honorable Mention School
Jordyn Alt Denver
Jaycee Bradley South Dakota
Claire Gritt Denver
Reilly Jacobson North Dakota State
Madison McKeever South Dakota


All-Newcomer School
Claire Gritt Denver
Chloe Lamb South Dakota
Tagyn Larson South Dakota State
Maya Mayberry Oral Roberts
Myah Selland South Dakota State


Fans interested in making a donation to the women's basketball program can do so by clicking here. Your contribution will make a direct impact on the success of YOUR Pioneers. Thank you in advance for your unwavering support of our student-athletes and their quest for excellence.

Student-Athlete Alumni Giving Challenge:

In 2017-18, the University of Denver is holding an alumni giving challenge in an effort to increase student-athlete alumni participation in the Denver Athletics Annual Fund. The sport program with the highest percentage of alumni participation will receive an additional $10,000 of support through the generosity of an anonymous donor. Former student-athletes can make a gift online, by calling 303-871-2388 during normal business hours or by sending a check to:

Athletics Development Office
Attn: Kaley Rickert
2201 E. Asbury Avenue 
Denver, CO 80208

DENVER ATHLETICS TICKETS: For all Denver Athletics ticket inquires, call 303-871-GOAL (4625), or visit DenverPioneers.com


Like Denver Pioneers and Denver Women's Basketball on Facebook

Follow @DU_Pioneers and @DU_Whoops on Twitter



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago