Women's Soccer


Historical Timeline

1983 Inaugural season in the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Soccer League. Pioneers place Rita Harrel and Pam Girardi on the all-league team
1984 Pioneers finish second in the RIMSL
1985 Head coach Dave Farrar closes his coaching career with 19-27-1 record
1986 Denver names Dean Kitchen head coach; Pioneers defeat CU-Colorado Springs 14-0 for the largest victory in school history
1987 Pioneers improve from 9-1 in Kitchen's first season to post a 12-5-1 in his second year.
1988 Denver compiles a third consecutive winning season
1989 Pioneers break four school records; most wins in a season, most goals in a season, most assists in a season and most points in a season
1990 Jean Sagstetter earns NSCAA Division II West Region All-America honors
1991 Inaugural year in the Colorado Athletic Conference. The Pioneers post a perfect conference record. Coach Kitchen named conference Coach of the Year
1992 Jeff Hooker named head coach; Denver wins CAC title
1993 Denver wins second consecutive CAC title; finish season ranked seventh in NCAA Division II standings
1994 Pioneers repeat as CAC champions; Hooker named co-Coach of the Year; Deshuanne Running named to the NCAA Division II All-America team
1995 Denver wins fourth CAC title; Hooker named Coach of the Year; Running earns All-America honors for the second consecutive year.
1996 Denver joins the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference; Deshuanne Running named NSCAA/Umbro Division II Player of the Year
1997 Pioneers defeat two Division I teams en route to a 13-6 record; Andrea Raleigh named to the NSCAA/Umbro All-Great Plains First Team
1998 Hooker named Director of Soccer; Pioneers play inaugural season in Division 1
1999 Pioneers post a 9-9-1 record in their second season in Division 1; hold a 6-1 record at Pioneer Field
2000 Inaugural season in Sun Belt Conference; Kristen Warren named to Division 1 third-team all-central region
2001 Pioneers win Sun Belt Conference title; earn first-ever bid to NCAA Tournament
2002 Denver compiles a school record 15-game winning streak; win second-consecutive Sun Belt Conference Tournament title and earn second consecutive NCAA Tournament bid.
2003 Pioneers are Sun Belt regular season champions and tournament champions; earn third consecutive NCAA Tournament invitation
2004 Senior Maggie Kirchhoff, sophomore Lleane Grimditch, and freshmen Jenna Billingsley and Taryn Hemmings earn First-Team All-Sun Belt honors and sophomores Laura Mann and Danielle Wiley named Second-Team All-Sun Belt
2005 Juniors Lleane Grimditch and Laura Mann are named to the All-Sun Belt Conference First Team, while sophomore Jenna Billingsley makes the Second Team. Mann also earns Soccer Buzz All-Central Third Team and ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District VII honors.
2006 The Pioneers win their first ever NCAA Tournament game, beating Kentucky in the First Round. DU finishes with its best ever record at 19-3-1 after sweeping the SBC during the regular season and at the SBC Tournament. Jeff Hooker claims his third SBC Coach of the Year award, while junior Taryn Hemmings earns SBC Player of the Year and SBC Tournament Most Outstanding Player.
2007 Denver wins its second-straight SBC Tournament title and advances to the NCAA Tournament. On Sept. 23, DU senior midfielder and four-time All-SBC selection Jenna Billingsley buries a pass from junior midfielder Carrie Blankenbuhler with 3:55 remaining in the game, as the Pioneers upset then No. 1 Stanford 1-0. The win marks the first time DU has beaten the top-ranked team in the nation.
2008 The Pioneers win the Sun Belt Conference regular season title and third-straight SBC Tournament championship. Senior forward Taryn Hemmings wins her second SBC Player of the Year Award, and head coach Jeff Hooker is named SBC Co-Coach of the Year.
2009 DU becomes the first team in league history to win the Sun Belt Conference Tournament for four-straight seasons and also earned a fourth-consecutive berth in the NCAA Tournament. Freshman Kaitlin Bast won SBC Tournament Most Outstanding Player honors after scoring three goals in Denver's three wins.
2010 After a 18-2 regular season, the Pioneers lost the Sun Belt Conference Championship on penalty kicks and missed out on an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament despite its 19-2-1 record. Denver finished the regular season ranked No. 24 in the country, and outscored opponents 47-15 and didn't lose a match at CIBER Field. Bast was named the Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year.
2011 Sophomore Kristen Hamilton was named the Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year, and the Pioneers finished the year 16-5-0, falling to FIU in the Sun Belt Semfinals to finish the campaign. Bast missed most of her junior campaign due to a concussion. 2012 Denver put its mark on the national stage, reaching its first NCAA Sweet 16 in program history, after a 3-2 come-from-behind overtime upset over No. 4 Maryland. Junior Nichollete DiGiacomo had a hat trick in the match to erase the 2-0 Terps lead. A year after her concussion, Bast had a pair of goals in the first round of the tournament, the first-ever NCAA game at CIBER Field, as the Pioneers topped Colorado College 3-1. Hamilton earned her second conference player of the year honor, and was named to the NSCAA All-American Third Team. The Pioneer junior was also named the College Soccer 360 National Player of the Week after her hat trick in Denver's upset at No. 13 Portland.
2013 The Pioneers finished the 2013 season with an overall record of 18-2-1, and 7-0-0 in their first season in The Summit League. Denver won the regular season title as well as The Summit League tournament championship. Head Coach Jeff Hooker was named The Summit League's Co-Coach of the year, while bringing home his 300th win at Omaha. For the second consecutive year, Denver hosted an NCAA First Round Tournament game, but fell 1-0 to Colorado. Senior Kristen Hamilton was named Offensive Player of the Year, which makes her the only NCAA athlete in history to be named conference player of the year in three different conferences. Hamilton was named First Team All-American, while classmate Nicholette DiGiacomo was named Third Team All-American. Hamilton became Denverâ€TMs all-time leader in points (138) and goals (51) and DiGiacomo became the co-leader in assists with 39.
2014 Denver finished the 2014 campaign at 10-8-2 and 5-3-0 in Summit League Play. The Pioneers dropped the Summit League Final to South Dakota State in a penalty kick shootout at CIBER Field.
2015 The Pioneers grabbed all four of its wins in Summit League play in 2015, finishing 4-12-1 on the year.   
2016 Denver won its first Summit League regular season title since the 2013 season, sharing the honor with North Dakota State. Freshman Brittany Wilson played in all 19 matches in goal for the Pioneers, and freshman Hannah Adler led the team with 12 points on four goals and four assists. Junior outside back Makenzie Bothner was named the Summit League Defensive Player of the Year, Adler was named the Freshman of the Year and Wilson was named the Goalkeeper of the Year. 
2017 Denver reached the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2013 after winning the Summit League Women's Soccer Championship, thanks to a late Angelica Pacheco game-winner. Jessie Dancy finished with a team-high 31 points on 14 goals and three assists, scoring in both the Summit League Semifinal and the Summit League Final. Hannah Adler chipped in 22 points on nine goals and four assists in her sophomore season. The Pioneers finished 11-9-1 and 5-2-0 in the Summit League, falling to Colorado 2-1 in the NCAA First Round. 



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago