Women's Tennis


Denver Picked as #SummitWTN Preseason Favorite

Bianca Mok is the highest-rated singles player in the Summit League (#108) entering the 2017 season
Jan. 12, 2017

Three-time reigning champion Denver is the favorite to claim the 2017 Summit League Women's Tennis Championship according to the preseason poll of league head coaches. The Pioneers claimed both the regular season and tournament titles in each of their first three seasons in the league.


Denver received six-of-seven first-place votes (coaches cannot vote for their own team) for a total of 36 points. South Dakota finished second with 30 points ahead of a third-place tie between 2016 tournament runner-up South Dakota State, which claimed the remaining first-place vote, and Oral Roberts with 20 points each. Omaha (16), IUPUI (15) and Western Illinois (6) rounded out the poll.


The 2017 dual season begins Jan. 14 with Oral Roberts squaring off against Arkansas-Pine Bluff and Tulsa in a pair of matches. League play begins Feb. 17 when IUPUI hosts Omaha. The Summit League Championship is hosted by IUPUI, April 28-29 in Indianapolis.

2017 Women's Tennis Preseason Poll




School (1st-place votes)


2016 Record


Denver (6)


21-3, 6-0 Summit


South Dakota


11-12, 4-2


South Dakota State (1)


15-9, 4-2

Oral Roberts


12-13, 3-3




11-12, 2-4




7-16, 2-4


Western Illinois


6-13, 0-6


Note: Coaches may not vote for their own teams

#SummitWTN Players to Watch


Jovana Antonijevic, Oral Roberts

  • Newcomer ranked in Top 10 in Serbia for U-18


Ellie Burns, South Dakota

  • 2016 All-Summit performer went 11-7 at No. 1 singles 

Ceijenia Cornelius, Oral Roberts

  •      Went 10-11, 3-3 in league as a freshman in 2016 

Michelle Lo, Omaha

  • 2016 All-Summit performer went 3-2 in league at No. 1 singles


Courtney Lubbers, Western Illinois

  • Recorded eight wins, including a pair of league victories, at No. 1 singles last season

Bianca Mok, Denver

  • 2016 Summit League Newcomer of the Year after league-best 19-2 singles record
  • Ranked No. 108 in ITA Preseason Singles Rankings 

Julia O'Loughlin, Denver

  • 2016 Summit League Player of the Year tied for league-lead with 19 singles wins


Iasmin Rosa, South Dakota State

  • Posted 17-9 singles record, including 16 wins at No. 1, last season


Sara Sherif, IUPUI

  • Went 4-2 in league singles matches last season
  • 2015 Summit League Newcomer of the Year while at Fort Wayne

Note: Players to Watch selected by league's head coaches

#SummitWTN Preseason Notes

  • Denver's doubles team of Julia O'Loughlin and Maureen Slattery is ranked No. 13 in the ITA preseason rankings.
  • Two Summit Leaguers are ranked in the ITA Preseason Singles Rankings: Denver's Bianca Mok at No. 108 and IUPUI's Marina Schneiger at No. 111.
  • Denver will attempt to become the second team in Summit League history to win four consecutive regular season and tournament titles, last done by Oral Roberts from 1999-2002.
  • The Pioneers enter the season with the fourth-longest league win streak in history, having been victorious in 19 straight dating back to the start of their first season in 2014.
  • Denver posted The Summit League's best season win percentage (.875) in history after going 21-3 a year ago.
  • DU's Mok (Rookie of the Year) and head coach Christian Thompson (Coach of the Year) each earned ITA Mountain Region honors in 2016.
  • IUPUI will host The Summit League Tennis Championships for the fourth time in its history and first since 2004.


Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit
www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago